Moonshot Lab Hawaiʻi

Moonshot Lab Hawaiʻi (MSLHI) creates an opportunity for our kids and communities to build definitions and identities of innovation and entrepreneurship in uniquely Hawaiian ways. Moonshot Lab eliminates resource-redundancy by sharing existing and future resources amongst a variety of community stakeholders for largest collective impact while increasing opportunity for kids and communities to dream, invent, design, and strengthen present and future version of themselves that is resilient, inventive, agile, and a model for the world. 

In year 1 of MSLHI, we partnered with Roosevelt High School, Hālau Kū Māna, and University Laboratory School. Each school was partnered with a community client, Laukahi: Hawaiʻi Plant Conservation Network, Polynesian Voyaging Society, and the City and County of Honolulu Office of Climate Change, Sustainability, and Resiliency.

Educator Workshops

The Moonshot Laboratory Hawaiʻi Launchpad professional development focuses on preparing teachers for student participation in Moonshot Lab. Given the unique and innovative approach to teaching and learning at Moonshot Lab HI, the professional development component is critically important to ensuring that educators are sufficiently empowered and supported to thrive alongside their students.

Innovation with Aloha (IWA) workshops for this first year focused on virtual and augmented reality integration into learning and introduction to Project Wayfinder ( 

Education Leadership Fellowship

Over Spring Break 2018, we partnered with Teach For America Hawaii and Hawaii Kids Can to host an education leadership fellowship for students on the Leeward Oahu coast. We met amazing, passionate, brilliant students and connected with local community members to learn from and collaborate on local educational issues that the students are passionate about!

Special thanks to our guest speakers and leaders:  Representative Aquino, Jill Baldemor, Malia Espinda, Representative Gates, Brian Hallett, Piʻikea Kalakau, Colleen McEnearney, Representative Takashi Ohno, Isaiah Peacott Ricardos, and Kealohi Reppun.